Minsk 2018

Junior Eurovision: Kazakhstan to use national selection to pick first representative

Just a few days ago, the EBU revealed that Kazakhstan would make a debut at Junior Eurovision in Minsk. The country’s broadcaster (Khabar Agency) stated they will opt for a national final to pick their first representative at the contest. 

Not much time left to choose

Speaking at a press conference, Khabar Agency’s chairman Mr. Alan Azhibayev revealed that despite the short available time they will hold a national selection to pick their first entrant. Furthermore, he also emphasized that the public should have a say noting:

We consider all the talented children who live in our country.It can not be said that it will be Danelia Tuleshova who will go, we have many other stars, most importantly, that the audience will determine who will go there to represent Kazakhstan at the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. We need to do this very quickly, to find a child who will just come and win

The national selection will take place on October 8th, which happens to be the last day in which countries can pick their entrants. Previously, there were previous rumors that Danelia Tuleshova may have been the preferred entrant, you can read more about her here.

Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018

Belarus’s capital Minsk will be the host of the 2018 edition of Junior Eurovision. This is the second time the event takes place in the city, who previously hosted it in 2010. A record-breaking 19 countries will participate in Minsk on November 25 and they are:

  • Albania (RTSH)
  • Armenia (AMPTV)
  • Australia (ABC / SBS)
  • Azerbaijan (ICTIMAI)
  • Belarus (BTRC)
  • France (France TV)
  • FYR Macedonia (MKRTV)
  • Georgia (GPB)
  • Ireland (TG4)
  • Israel (KAN)
  • Italy (RAI)
  • Kazakhstan (Khabar Agency)
  • Malta (PBS)
  • Poland (TVP)
  • Portugal (RTP)
  • Russia (RTR)
  • Serbia (RTS)
  • The Netherlands (AVROTROS)
  • Wales (S4C)

Wales and Kazakhstan will both make a debut with Kazakhstan participating for the first time to any Eurovision related event. Besides, the contest will also feature three returning countries: France, that last participated in 2004, Azerbaijan that last participated in 2013 and Israel that last participated in 2016. Unfortunately, two countries that participated last year, Cyprus and Ukraine, both confirmed their withdrawal from the competition.
Are you excited to see Kazakhstan at Junior Eurovision? What kind of song are you hoping they will choose?
Let us know in the comments section below and on all social media platforms at @ESCXTRA!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button