The Scoop

Demy set to take part in New Wave 2018

New Wave the popular Russian song contest has announced its 2018 line-up. Among the stars are Demy (2017), Klinsmann (MESC) and Gevorg Harutyunyan (Depi Evratesil).

A new wave, but familiar names

Founded in 2002, New Wave sees local and international artists compete in Russia’s popular song contest featuring concert shows performed across six days. Decided by a jury panel, the winner receives the prestigious New Wave Award and 7 million Rubles.

Included among the contestants this year are several names that will be instantly recognisable to Eurovision fans. Demy represented Greece in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017, finishing a respectable 19th place in the Kyiv final. Next up is Klinsmann who was a regular feature of the now sadly departed Malta Eurovision Song Contest. Having appeared no less than 8 times, Klinsmann’s best performance came in 2007 when he achieved 3rd place with She Gives Me Wings. Thirdly is Armenian singer Gevorg Harutyunyan who has participated in both editions of Depi Evratesil. He came 7th in 2018 with Stand Up.

Notable past winners include Sergey Lazarev as part of Smash!!!, Cosmos, Intars Busulis, Natalia Gordienko, DoReDoS. Not forgetting of course its most famous winner who went on to double up with Eurovision victory in Stockholm, Jamala. Proving that the Russian show is a great platform for young singers aiming for international stardom. Will we see any others from the 2018 crop enter Eurovision in the future?

Eurovision faces on the jury panel

Taking over the jury panel as well, the returning line up from 2017 also sees many familiar names. Former winner Sergey Lazarev returns, who came third for Russia in Stockholm with You Are The Only One. Philipp Kirkorov the second ever participant for Russia, who also has numerous composing credits for Russia and beyond in Eurovision. Alsou who achieved one of Russia’s many runner-up placings with Solo. Also a former winner, like Sergey, Latvia’s 2009 participant who sadly didn’t qualify for the Moscow final, Intars Busulis is on the panel.

Another interesting name on the panel is Dimitris Kontopoulos, known to many as part of the ‘Dream Team’ of Eurovision hit-makers. Dimitris most famous tracks include, Shady Lady, Hold Me, and You Are The Only One. All achieving placings on the Eurovision podium. Dimitris also wrote Demy’s entry This Is Love and will be reunited with Demy under different circumstances now he will be judging her on the show.

Demy in the Eurovision Song Contest 2017

Internally selected by ERT to represent Greece in the Kyiv contest, Demy’s This Is Love won the mini national final held to select the song. Despite wowing the audience with semi-naked hunks and LED trickery, Greece qualified in 10th place in the first semi-final. However in the grand final Greece managed to finish in a more solid 19th position. This was also the last time Greece qualified for the final.

Will you be following the New Wave contest? What do you think of the line-up? Let us know in the comments and on social media @ESCXTRA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button