The Scoop

Guest performers announced for “Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light”

Several former winners will perform! have announced the first artists set to perform in “Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light” which will take place on Saturday 16th May. The event’s Executive Producer, Sieste Bakker, has said the event will “inspire those at home and connect people from across Europe and beyond”.

Several winners, including last year’s winner Duncan Laurence, will perform during the show, which will be held at the Mediapark in Hilversum. The show will be hosted by Chantal Janzen, Jan Smit and Edsilia Rombley. Online host NikkieTutorials and British commentator Graham Norton will also appear during the show.

Five returning champions!

Three Eurovision winners are set to return to perform their Eurovision winning entries. 2015 winner and 2016 host, Måns Zelmerlöw, will perform his entry “Heroes”. Serbia’s only winner to date, Marija Šerifović, will also perform her winning entry from 2007, “Molitva”.

Gali Atari, who won the 1979 contest with Milk & Honey, will perform “Hallelujah”, alongside a choir featuring past Junior Eurovision entrants. It’s the second year in a row that Gali will perform her winning entry. Last year, she performed the song during the Switch Song interval act.

The two latest Eurovision winners will also perform during the broadcast. Netta will perform an acoustic version of a new song which has a “special message about these unusual times”. Reigning champion, Duncan Laurence will perform a brand new song as part of the show.

“A Little Peace”

Michael Schulte, who represented Germany at the 2018 contest, will perform “Ein Bisschen Frieden” alongside Ilse DeLange of The Common Linnets. The song, with a poignant message in these times, was Germany’s first Eurovision-winning entry in 1982. The Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra will also appear with a classic performance in a “very special sequence”.

Rumours continue to circulate about other artists reportedly taking part in the show. According to the INFE Network, Eleni Fouriera, who finished second in 2018, will perform during the show. Also, EurovisionFun has reported that 2005 winner Helena Paparizou will make an appearance during “Europe Shine A Light”.

Last week, Eldar Gasimov who won Eurovision 2011 as part of Ell & Nikki, posted on his Instagram account that he was “shooting something very interested” alongside Nigar Jamal. Although it was not confirmed that the recording was for the show, Eldar tagged ‘#shinealight’ within the post.

Will you be watching the show? Are you excited about the guest performers announced today?

Let us know in the comments below and on social media @ESCXTRA.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button