The Scoop

The winners of the 2020 ESCRadio Awards have been revealed

The ESC Radio Awards have been a staple event every year. Despite the cancellation of the 2020 Eurovision Song Contest; the station still went ahead and ran the competition. After a week of voting, the winners have been announced.

Best Group & Best Song – The Roop

The Lithuanian group managed to score two awards in this year’s competition. The group won the ‘Best Group’ award beating fellow fan favourite Daði & Gagnamagnið, which placed 2nd, and The Mamas placing 3rd. The Roop’s 2020 Eurovision entry ‘On Fire’ also won ‘Best Song’, with Répondez-moi placing 2nd and Fai rumore placing 3rd.

On whether or not the group will be making a return on the 2021 contest; it’s been confirmed that The Roop has been invited to participate at Lithuania’s 2021 national selection. Their decision is yet to be confirmed.

Best Female Artist – VICTORIA

Bulgaria’s return to the 2020 competition saw VICTORIA due to represent them with the song ‘Tears Getting Sober’. VICTORIA won the competition, with Destiny from Malta placing 2nd and Efendi from Azerbaijan rounding up the Top 3.

BNT has confirmed that VICTORIA has been selected to represent Bulgaria at next year’s competition.

Best Male Artist – Gjon’s Tears

Rounding off the awards, Gjon Tear’s won the Best Male Artist. He was due to represent Switzerland with the song ‘Répondez-moi’. Placing 2nd is Italy’s Diodato, with Germany’s Ben Dolic placing 3rd.

SRF has already confirmed that Gjon will be returning in 2021; and will represent Switzerland in next year’s competition.

You are able to look at the full breakdown of the results by clicking right here.

We would like to congratulate The Roop, VICTORIA and Gjon’s Tears for winning!

Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to subscribe to our YouTube channel to see our reactions to the news in the upcoming months.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button