The ScoopπŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ Belgium

πŸ‡§πŸ‡ͺ Four Eurovision faces nominated for the award of “Radio 2 Zomerhit” in Belgium

August means summer and summer means summer hits! Traditionally, Flemish radio station Radio 2 elects its yearly ultimate summer hit around this time of the year. On 16 August, the big show will take place, however it will be a COVID-19 proof edition this year.

Eurovision vibes among the nominees

Radio 2 selected ten potential summer hits and threw them on a list. The Flemish audience was able to vote for their ultimate summer hit of 2020 until 16 August 6 pm CET. These are the ten nominees for this year’s “Radio 2 Zomerhit”

  • Mij en m’n gitaar – Gene Thomas
  • Summer sun – Hooverphonic
  • Het beste aan mij (ben jij) – Metejoor
  • Kom wat dichterbij – Regi feat. Jake Reese & OT
  • Hold on – Laura Tesoro
  • Van vooraf aan – Nina Butera feat. White Bird
  • Nooit alleen – Niels Destadsbader
  • Little Submarine – The Starlings
  • Love to go – Lost Frequencies, Zonderling & Kelvin Jones
  • California – Clouseau

The nominees in bold have Eurovision references.

Mij en m’n gitaar – Gene Thomas

A cover of Tom Dice’s “Me and My Guitar” from Eurovision 2010.

Summer Sun – Hooverphonic

Hooverphonic were the representatives of Belgium in 2020 and will be back in 2021 to finish their task!

Hold On – Laura Tesoro

Laura Tesoro finished 10th at Eurovision 2016 with “What’s The Pressure”.

Little Submarine – The Starlings

Tom Dice and Kato Callebaut with a cover of K3’s “Liefdeskapitein”. Tom Dice finished 6th at Eurovision 2010 with “Me and My Guitar”.

Clouseau – California

Clouseau represented Belgium at Eurovision 1991 with “Geef Het Op”. They finished 16th.

Who won?

On the night of 16 August, Radio 2 announced the winner of their yearly Summer Hit award. Unfortunately, none of the ex-Eurovision participants managed to win. The trophy went to Regi ft. Jake Reese & OT with the song “Kom Wat Dichterbij”.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button