Rotterdam 2021🇫🇮 Finland

🇫🇮 Listen to Laura’s UMK21 entry “Play”

The romance turned to drama?

Laura is one of the seven artists competing at UMK21, Finland’s national selection for Eurovision Song Contest. Today her entry “Play” was released.

Listen to “Play”

The song is written by Karl-Ander Reismann, Reinis Straume and Laura Põldvere.

Karl-Ander Reismann has previously written plenty of entries to Estonia’s Eesti Laul. In 2020 four of the twelve entries on the final of Eesti Laul were written by Karl-Ander. His songs have finished third twice, in 2018 it was “Laura (Walk with Me)” performed by Vajé and in 2019 the song “Without You” by Stefan.

Reinis Straume is member of the group Double Faced Eels who took part in Latvia’s national selection in 2019. He also has written plenty of songs to their selection Supernova.

Who is Laura?

Laura Põldvere has represented Estonia twice in the Eurovision Song Contest. In 2005 she competed as part of the group Suntribe and in 2017 she represented the country with Koit Toome and the song “Verona“. Both times she unfortunately failed to qualify to the final, but “Verona” became a big fan favourite. In total Laura has taken part in Estonia’s Eesti Laul six times. Most recently she took part in 2020 with the song “Break Me“.

In her native Estonia, she has been the most played artist on the radio stations during the last decade. She currently residents in Finland, which allows her to compete in Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu.

In the interview with ESCXTRA, she said that the song “Play” talks about getting out of complicated relationship. The stage performance at UMK will include some story telling and will focus on the message of the song.

Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2021

The tenth edition of Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu will take place on February 20 at 20:00 CET. Seven artists will compete and the Finnish public together with international juries will choose Finland’s representative for Eurovision Song Contest 2021.

The seven contestants who are taking part are Ilta, Laura, Oskr, Teflon Brothers x Pandora, Aksel, Danny and Blind Channel. Mikko Silvennoinen will serve as the commentator of the show and the host will be revealed in February.

You can also listen to the other competing entries at this year’s Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu by following our Spotify playlist.

What do you think about the song? Let us know below or on social media @ESCXTRA!

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button