Rotterdam 2021🇸🇪 Sweden

🇸🇪 Melodifestivalen 2021 final to have English commentary

"Everyone should feel invited to Sweden's party"

For the first time ever, English commentary will be available for this year’s final of Melodifestivalen, which will be held on Saturday. A live stream with English commentary will be available via the SVT Play website.

Journalists Olivia Le Poidevin and Bella Qvist will commentate on the show, which will be hosted by Måns Zelmerlöw, Shima Niavarani and Christer Björkman. 12 acts will compete in this weekend’s grand final with Danny Saucedo opening the show and Arvingarna closing the show.

“A dream come true”

Melodifestivalen’s project manager Anette Brattström has said that the introduction of an English commentary option reflects the growing fan base of the show outside of Sweden and also the ever-improving technology for viewing TV online.

To be able to offer Melodifestivalen to viewerss who cannot fully follow the program in Swedish is a dream come true… Everyone should feel invited to the whole of Sweden’s party and this is another step for more people to be able to take part in the program. Thanks to today’s technology and the SVT Play service, it is possible this year.

– Anette Brattström, Project Manager for Melodifestivalen

Bella Qvist, who works for Sveriges Radio, has added that she is “happy” to be commentating on the show.

I am so happy to be part of this exciting new venture that welcomes both old and new non-Swedish-speaking viewers to the wonderful world of Melodifestivalen.

– Bella Qvist, English commentator for Melodifestivalen

BBC Radio journalist and presenter Olivia Le Poidevin has also said that it “feels fantastic” to be part of something new for the show.

I have always been impressed by the quality of the contributions that Melodifestivalen and Sweden send to Eurovision. And this year, when the world needs Eurovision more than ever, it feels fantastic to be part of guiding the rest of the world through a fantastic evening.

– Olivia Le Poidevin, English commentator for Melodifestivalen

Melodifestivalen 2021 – the final

12 acts will take part in the final, which will be held on Saturday 13th March, live from the Annexet in Stockholm. Eight acts qualified from the semi-finals, with four more acts qualifying from last weekend’s Andra Chansen round.

The running order is as follows:

  1. Danny Saucedo – Dandi dansa
  2. Klara Hammarström – Beat of Broken Hearts
  3. Anton Ewald – New Religion
  4. The Mamas – In The Middle
  5. Paul Rey – The Missing Piece
  6. Charlotte Perrelli – Still Young
  7. Tusse – Voices
  8. Alvaro Estrella – Baila Baila
  9. Clara Klingenström – Behöver inte dig idag
  10. Eric Saade – Every Minute
  11. Dotter – Little Tot
  12. Arvingarna – Tänker inte alls gå hem

50% of the vote will be decided by televote (via telephone and app voting). The other 50% of the vote will be decided by eight international juries, who will award points in the traditional Eurovision system of 12, 10, 8-1 points. The eight international juries are Albania, Belarus, Cyprus, France, Iceland, Israel, The Netherlands and Switzerland.

All of the competing songs are now available to stream! Listen to them on our Spotify playlist:

Are you looking forward to watching the show with English commentary? Who are your favourites?

Let us know in the comments below and on social media @ESCXTRA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button