Turin 2022

Semi-final allocation draw to take place on January 25

On January 25, the Eurovision Song Contest will officially make its transition from Rotterdam to Turin and we will find out which countries will be pitted against each other in May.

What we know so far about the semi-final allocation draw

The semi-final allocation draw for Eurovision 2022 will take place on January 25, which will reveal the semi-final in which each of the 41 participating nations will participate and vote in.

Montenegrin broadcaster RTCG first broke the news. Later, Eurofestival News, one of the most popular Eurovision news blogs in Italy, reported it.

However, we do not yet know where this will take place and who will host. Instead, we know that each of the 36 countries, excluding the Big 5, including Italy (the winner of the 2021 edition) will ultimately be sorted into two semi-finals. In addition, in each of the two semi-finals, only 10 countries out of 18 will ultimately proceed to the final on May 14.

How does the allocation draw work?

The 36 countries will then be divided into 5 or 6 “pots”. In fact, countries are put in the same pot if they have voted for each other in the past. For example, the Nordic countries have all been in a single pot for many years now. In addition, some other bloc pots include countries from the Baltics, Soviets and Southeastern Europe. Eurovision Song Contest organisers have used this method because it appears to minimise bloc voting. This was definitely an issue in the earlier years of the contest. In fact, if you’d like to learn more about the allocation draw, take a look at our in-depth analysis of the allocation draws of the past thirteen years here.

© Stijn Smulders – Eurovision 2020 Semi-Final Allocation Draw pots 

This method arguably also increases the suspense when the votes are finally revealed, not to mention the excitement when the full breakdown of the results are released! Later, the 36 semi-finalists, plus the remaining competitors from the Big 5 countries will be allocated into a specific half of their respective semi-final. Then, this will be used in May closer to the contest when the running order is finally revealed. But we’re getting ahead of ourselves.

Host City Insignia Exchange

The semi-final allocation draw is also significant for another reason. Firstly, to mark the year 2022 and celebrate the Eurovision Song Contest coming to Italy, the Host City Insignia Exchange will also take place. In addition, this ceremony traditionally celebrates the handover between Eurovision host cities and will be a memorable event as the contest travels from Rotterdam to Turin. The 2022 host city, Turin will also add an iconic insignia to the key chain (held by the two gentlemen to the right in the image below) and display it in a public monument until it is time to deliver it to its new home to the host city in 2023.

© Roel Dijkstra Fotografie, Marc Heeman – Eurovision 2020 Host City Insignia Exchange

Participating Countries

As of January 2022, the full list of countries competing in Eurovision 2022 stands thus:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • Azerbaijan
  • Belgium
  • Bulgaria
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • Georgia
  • Greece
  • Ireland
  • Iceland
  • Israel
  • Latvia
  • Lithuania
  • North Macedonia
  • Malta
  • Moldova
  • Montenegro
  • Norway
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Czech Republic
  • Romania
  • Russia
  • San Marino
  • Serbia
  • Slovenia
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Ukraine

Finally, the Big 5 – France, Germany, Italy, Spain and the United Kingdom, will join the top 20 countries from the semi-finals on the final night of the competition.

Are you excited about the allocation draw? What countries don’t you want to see compete in the same semi-final? Let us know in the comments below! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify and YouTube to see our reactions to the news from the 2022 national final season!

Isabella Tang

I'm a dedicated Eurovision fan and ESCXTRA contributor from the other side of the globe in Australia. Even though I'm fairly new to Eurovision, seeing as I was first introduced to it in 2016, this hasn't stopped me from looking back on all the previous years and loving the contest more and more.

Comments on Semi-final allocation draw to take place on January 25

Related Articles

Back to top button