Turin 2022🇮🇪 Ireland

Patrick O’Sullivan premieres Eurosong 2022 entry “One Night, One Kiss, One Promise”

From Last Singer Standing to Eurosong

The fifth of the six entries of Ireland’s Eurosong 2022 was premiered today on RTÉ Radio 1’s The Ryan Tubridy Show. The song comes from Patrick O’Sullivan, who will compete with “One Night, One Kiss, One Promise.

Patrick O’Sullivan is known as the winner of RTÉ’s Last Singer Standing in 2021. Among others, in the final he competed against Janet Grogan, who he will face again in Eurosong, as Janet is also taking part with the song “Ashes of Yesterday“. Patrick won the contest and the €25,000 prize, that he said he wants to invest in his music career.

Before winning Last Singer Standing, Patrick starred in several West End productions in London on shows such as The Book of Mormon and Dr. Doolittle. In 2021, he released a Christmas single “The Hour Before Christmas“. Nicky Byrne is one of the songwriters of the song “One Night, One Kiss, One Promise”. He’s known as member of the group Westlife and he represented Ireland in 2016 with “Sunlight”. He has written the song together with The Coronas frontman Danny O’Reilly and Lar Kaye.

I have always loved Eurovision; I grew up watching it with my family and have fond memories of the whole family sitting down to watch it together. I love how it has evolved over the years and has grown to incorporate so many more elements of the performance beyond singing.

Patrick O’Sullivan on Eurovision

Eurosong 2022

For the first time since 2015, Ireland will select their entry for Eurovision via a national final – marking a return of Eurosong, again as part of The Late Late Show. 320 songs were submitted to RTÉ for the selection. Six songs will take part in the show which will be held on Friday 4th February. The winning entry will be selected by a combination of a national jury, international jury and public vote.

The first four songs were released earlier this week. Brendan Murray, who represented Ireland in 2017 with “Dying to Try”, wants to return to the contest with “Real Love”. Also taking part is Rachel Goode with the song “I’m Loving Me”. Behind the song you can find three of the songwriters of Poland’s 2021 entry “The Ride” – Joakim Övrenius, Thomas Karlsson and Johan Mauritzson. The third song comes from Janet Grogan and the fourth song is “That’s Rich” by Brooke.

What do you think about “One Night, One Kiss, One Promise”? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify and YouTube to see our reactions to the news in the run up to the 2022 national final season!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button