Turin 2022🇵🇹 Portugal

Festival da Canção 2022 final line-up complete

The line up for Saturday's Grand Final is now complete!

The second semi-final of Festival da Canção 2022 took place tonight. Ten acts competed for the final five places at the Grand Final. A professional jury and the Portuguese public decided the remaining five finalists based on a 50/50 system. The first set of finalists were chosen on Saturday, and will join tonight’s qualifiers on the Grand Final to take place on Saturday March 12th.

Tonight’s show was took place in RTP Studios in Lisbon and was hosted by Tânia Ribas de Oliveira and José Carlos Malato, with Inês Lopes Gonçalves hosting the green room. The night saw RTP continue to showcase Portuguese talent alongside charismatic presenters and guests, excellent visuals and efficient sequencing of the artists. In addition, Benidorm Fest 2022 winner Chanel performed her entry “SloMo” tonight.

The results

Just like in previous years, the power was equally divided between the expert jury and the public at home. While regional juries will help decide the overall winner on March 12, for the semi-finals, the jury is composed of the following:

  • Dino D’Santiago (composer)
  • Dulce Pontes (Portugal 1991)
  • Miguel Cadete (music critic)
  • Pedro Granger (press conference and Opening Ceremony presenter for Eurovision 2018)
  • Pedro Tatanka (The Black Mamba, Portugal 2021)
  • Surma (Festival da Canção 2019)
  • Teresa Salgueiro (singer)

Here was tonight’s running order, with the five qualifiers in BOLD:

  1. Os Azeitonas – “Solta a Voz E Canta”
  2. Cubita – “Uma Mensagem Tua”
  3. Inês Homem de Melo – “Fome de Viagem”
  4. Syro – “Ainda Nos Temos”
  5. Pepperoni Passion – “Código 30”
  6. Milhanas – “Corpo de Mulher”
  7. Vampiro Submarino – “Ao Lado de Mim”
  8. Jonas – “Pontas Soltas”
  9. Blacci – “Mar No Fim”
  10. Pongo & Tristany – “Dégrá.dê”

The Grand Final

The Grand Final will take place on Saturday 12th March. Portugal’s entry for Eurovision 2022 will be determined by a 50/50 jury/televote split. The jury vote will comprise of the seven regional juries (Lisbon, North, Central, Alentejo, Algarve, Madeira and the Azores). Their points will be combined from those of the Portuguese public. The televote will take precedence in the event of a tie for first place, as was the case last year.

The songs competing (not in running order) are as follows:

  1. Os Quatro E Meia – “Amanhã”
  2. Diana Castro – “Ginger Ale”
  3. FF – “Bom Esperar Alguém”
  4. Aurea – “Why?”
  5. Maro – “saudade, saudade”
  6. Inês Homem de Melo – “Fome de Viagem”
  7. Syro – “Ainda Nos Temos”
  8. Pepperoni Passion – “Código 30”
  9. Milhanas – “Corpo de Mulher”
  10. Pongo & Tristany – “Dégrá.dê”

Did the right acts make it through? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify and YouTube to see our reactions to the news from Turin 2022!

Back to top button