Liverpool 2023🇮🇸 Iceland

RÚV announce Söngvakeppnin jury

RÚV have announced the ten jury members for tonight’s Söngvakeppnin final. Four Icelandic and six international members will make up the jury for Iceland’s search for their Eurovision 2023 song. Two former Eurovision entrants are in the pack.

Gaute Ormåsen part of the Söngvakeppnin jury

Among the list of ten, we see Gaute Ormåsen and Ihan Haydar. Both took part in the Eurovision Song Contest 2022. Ormåsen was part of Subwoolfer, who represented Norway last year in Turin. Ormåsen only revealed his involvement with Subwoolfer during the Melodi Grand Prix final. The other former Eurovision entrant in the jury is Ihan Haydar. She is the drummer of Reddi, who represented Denmark at last year’s Eurovision.

Another well known name in the Eurovision world is Ersin Parlak. The Turkish music agent has been involved with San Marino’s Eurovision participation for the past few years. The full list of jury members is below.

  • Lovísa Elísabet Sigrúnardóttir (Lay Low): Musician (Iceland)
  • Jón Ólafsson: Musician (Iceland)
  • Jóhann Kristófer Stefánsson (Joey Christ): Musician (Iceland)
  • Gugusar (Guðlaug Sóley Höskuldsdóttir): Musician (Iceland)
  • Gaute Ormåsen: Half of Subwoolfer, 2022 Eurovision entrant (Norway)
  • Ersin Parlak: Music Agent and Media Representative of San Marino in Eurovisison (Turkey)
  • Ramūnas Zilnys: Music director at Lithuanian National Radio (Lithuania)
  • Helena Nilsson: Social Media Manager (Sweden)
  • Ihan Haydar: Reddi drummer, 2022 Eurovision entrant (Denmark)
  • Emely Griggs: Program Director at Australian National Television (Australia)

Söngvakeppnin final

Five acts will take part in the grand final of Söngvakeppnin tonight. Four of them will switch from Icelandic to their English versions. Only Langi Seli og Skuggarnir will stick to the Icelandic version of their song “OK”. The running order is below:

  1. Sigga Ózk – Dancing Lonely
  2. Bragi – Sometime’s The World’s Against You
  3. Celebs – Doomsday Dancing
  4. Diljá – Power
  5. Langi Seli og Skuggarnir – OK

Four of these qualified directly from the semis. Following the conclusion of semi two, RÚV decided to award Celebs with the wildcard for the final. Söngvakeppnin will air at 20:45 CET, with Systur and Subwoolfer as interval acts.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button