Minsk 2018

Junior Eurovision: FYR Macedonia confirms participation

MRT has confirmed the country's 14th appearance in the contest

FYR Macedonia has recently confirmed their participation for Junior Eurovision 2018, to take place in Minsk on November 25th. MRT hasn’t revealed how they plan to select Mina’s successor, even though we can expect an internal selection, following their strategy in the recent years. The upcoming edition of the Junior Eurovision counts until now with 14 confirmed countries.

FYR Macedonia in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest

FYR Macedonia has debuted in the contest on its very first edition in 2003. Since then, has participated in every edition with the exceptions of 2012 and 2014. The country’s best result at the contest is the 5th place achieved twice: in 2007 with the song “Ding Ding Dong” and in 2008 with “Prati mi SMS”. Among their 13 participations they have got the last place three times, in 2006, 2013 and 2015. In the last edition FYR Macedonia was represented by Mina Blažev with the song “Dancing through life”, ranking 12th out of 16 countries, with 69 points.

Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018

The Junior Eurovision 2018 will be the sixteenth edition of the contest and will take place in Minsk, Belarus, despite the Russian victory on the last edition of the contest. It won’t be the first experience for Belarus, as the country has hosted the show for the very first time back in 2010. So far, 14 countries have confirmed their participation in Minsk, with Wales making its debut  and France returning after their last participation in 2004. However, two countries that participated last year in Tbilisi have confirmed their withdrawal from this years contest: Ukraine and Cyprus. Any early predictions for this year?

Will FYR Macedonia beat their best result at the contest? Will they place 12th for the 8th time? Did you like “Dancing through life” in 2017?
Let us know in the comments below or on social media @ESCXTRA.

One Comment

  1. Current prediction for participating countries at Junior Eurovision 2018:
    * Albania
    * Armenia
    * Australia
    * Belarus
    * France
    * Georgia
    * Ireland
    * Israel
    * Italy
    * Macedonia
    * Malta
    * Netherlands
    * Poland
    * Portugal
    * Russia
    * Serbia
    * Wales
    I’ll add 🇪🇸 if RTVE is ready to reboot EuroJunior.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button