Rotterdam 2021🇫🇮 Finland

🇫🇮 The seven contestants and details for UMK21 revealed

First song out tomorrow!

Finland’s national broadcaster Yle has today officially revealed the seven artists taking part in Finland’s Eurovision 2021 selection, Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu.

Who are taking part?

1. Ilta – Kelle mä soitan
Songwriters: Ilta Fuchs, Väinö Wallenius, Jouni Aslak, Tuomas Kauhanen

24-year-old Ilta Fuchs gained fame after featuring on the song “Sillat” by Finland’s probably most popular artist Cheek. Since then she has released her debut album “Näitä hetkiä varten” in September 2020. She is also known of her covers of Adele songs.

Favourite Eurovision song: Céline Dion – “Ne partez pas sans moi” (Switzerland 1988)

2. Laura – Play
Songwriters: Karl-Ander Reismann, Reinis Straume, Laura Põldvere

Laura Põldvere has represented Estonia twice in the Eurovision Song Contest. In 2005 she competed as part of the group Suntribe and in 2017 she represented the country with Koit Toome and the song “Verona“. Both times she unfortunately failed to qualify to the final, but “Verona” became a big fan favourite.

In Estonia, she has been the most played artist on the radio stations during the last decade. She currently residents in Finland, which allows her to compete in Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu.

Favourite Eurovision song: Tanel Padar & Dave Benton – “Everybody” (Estonia 2001)

3. Oskr – Lie
Songwriters: Oskari Ruohonen, Joonas Angeria, David Pramik

Oskari Ruohonen has just adapted his new stage name Oskr. He has released few singles in Finnish, but now kickstarts his career in English. Next to his solo career he also is part of bands Yournalist antd Traffic Island. Oskr comes from very musical family. His dad and uncle form the duo Matti ja Teppo, who have sold the second-most records in Finland.

Favourite Eurovision song: Brainstorm – “My Star” (Latvia 2000)

4. Telfon Brothers x Pandora – I Love You
Songwriters: Jaakko Salovaara, Axel Ehnström, Mikko Kuoppala, Heikki Kuula, Jani Tuohimaa, Anneli Magnusson

Teflon Brothers is one of Finland’s most popular groups. Their music is mainly humorous rap. The group consists of three members, Pyhimys, Voli and Heikki Kuula. Telfon Brothers have produced numerous hits, including “Pämppää“, “Lähiöunelmii” and “Maradona (kesä ’86)“, which was also released in Spanish.

Pandora started her career in 1990s and became one of the most successful eurodance artists in Nordic countries. She also had some succes in Asia and Australia. Her 1998 single “Spirit to Win” was the official track of the 1998 Winter Olympics in Nagano, Japan. Previously she has taken part in Sweden’s national selection Melodifestivalen twice, most recently in 2004 with the song “Runaway“.

Favourite Eurovision song:

Pandora: Loreen – “Euphoria” (Sweden 2012)
Voli: Kojo – “Nuku pommiin” (Finland 1982)
Heikki Kuula: Lordi – “Hard Rock Hallelujah” (Finland 2006)
Pyhimys: Paradise Oskar – “Da Da Dam” (Finland 2011)

5. Aksel – Hurt
Songwriters: Gerard O’Connell, Kalle Lindroth, Joonas Angeria

Despite claiming he didn’t send a song to UMK21, Aksel Kankaanranta is one of the seven artists in this year’s contest. He is best known for winning Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2020 with his song “Looking Back“.

Next to that, he recently released “Muista kuka oot“, his first single in Finnish. This week he was also nominated as the breakthrough act of 2021 by the radio station YleX.

Favourite Eurovision song: Daði & Gagnamagnið – “Think About Things” (Iceland 2020)

6. Danny – Sinä päivänä kun kaikki rakastaa mua
Songwriters: Janne Rintala

78-year-old Danny (Ilkka Lipsanen) is a living music legend in Finland. He started his career in 1964 and has had one of the longest careers in music in Finland. He has released over 300 songs and 18 studio albums. He has taken part in Finland’s national selection few times ever since 1966 and most recently in 2004 with “Seven Times Seven”.

Just this week it was announced he was signed for Mökkitie Records, the record company behind UMK20 finalist Erika Vikman. Danny and Erika also had a public relationship from 2016 to 2020.

Favourite Eurovision song: The Shadows – “Let Me Be the One” (United Kingdom 1975)

7. Blind Channel – Dark Side
Songwriters: Aleksi Kaunisvesi, Joonas Porko, Joel Hokka, Niko Moilanen, Olli Matela

Blind Channel is alternative rock band formed in 2013. The group describes their music as “violent pop”. They have released three studio albums and toured around Europe, including the Wacken Open Air festival. In 2020 producer and DJ Alex Mattson joined the group. Beside their own songs, the group has also released covers of songs such as “Left Outside Alone” by Anastacia and “Don’t” by Ed Sheeran.

Favourite Eurovision song: Loreen – Euphoria (Sweden 2012)

First song out tomorrow

We don’t have to wait long to hear the songs of this year’s contest. The first song will be out tomorrow and we will get a new song every weekday.

  • 14.1. Oskr – Lie
  • 15.1. Telfon Brothers x Pandora – I Love You
  • 18.1. Danny – Sinä päivänä kun kaikki rakastaa mua
  • 19.1. Laura – Play
  • 20.1. Aksel – Hurt
  • 21.1. Blind Channel – Dark Side
  • 22.2. Ilta – Kelle mä soitan

Uuden Musiikin Kilpailu 2021 will take place on February 20 at 20:00 CET. It was previously announced that there won’t be any audience attending the final.

The winner of the contest will be selected by international jury and the Finnish public. This year the points of the jury will only be 25% of the result while the Finnish televoters have 75%.

Mikko Silvennoinen will serve as the commentator but the UMK21 host will be revealed next month.

Who are you most excited to see at UMK21? Let us know below or on social media @ESCXTRA!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button