Turin 2022🇲🇰 North Macedonia

North Macedonia makes it 26 National Finals for 2022!

Yes you read that right, we now have a grand total of 26 national finals to look forward to. This is thanks to the broadcaster responsible for the participation of North Macedonia -MRT have announced that they will be running a national final to select their 2022 entry. The winner will represent the balkan nation in Turin, Italy. This will be the first time MRT will conduct a national final in six years.

What we know

From all the compositions submitted, MRT will internally select six songs that they deem deserving for advancement to the national final. At the national final, voting will commence. The results will be made up via audience voting who will provide 50% of the total votes, and the remaining 50% will be provided by international jury.

The subsequent winning entry will receive an amount of €2,000 from MRT, this will be for final post-production and mastering of the song. They will also receive the right from MRT to sign a License Agreement with the authorised music distributor from EBU (Universal Music), for commercial release to compete at the 2022 edition of the contest.

The rules

  • The songs must not exceed the three minute mark as per Eurovision Song Contest rules.
  • The songs must not be published before the 1st September 2021.
  • All performers must be citizens of the Republic of North Macedonia.
  • Authors outside our country have the right to take part but only as part of the songwriter-production team, but as previously stated the performers have to be citizens of the Republic of Northern Macedonia.
  • The proposal compositions are submitted to the following e-mail address: [email protected] or to the address: Macedonian Radio Television, 18 Goce Delchev Blvd., 1000 Skopje, R. Northern Macedonia, marked “FOR EUROSONG 2022”.
  • Deadline for submission is the 16th January 2022.

What happened last time?!

As previously mentioned, the last time North Macedonia held a national final was 6 years ago. In 2014 to select their 2015 entry MRT held “Skopje Fest”. The winner was Daniel Kajmakoski with the song “Lisja esenski” that later became “Autumn Leaves”. The song failed to qualify for the final after coming 15th with 26 points.

Are you looking forward to the Macedonian NF? Who do you want to take part? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify and YouTube to see our reactions to the news in the run up to the Eurovision Song Contest 2022, which is due to take place in Turin, Italy!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button