Turin 2022🇲🇰 North Macedonia

MRT reveals the six national finalists for Za Evrosong 2022

Songs to be released on January 28

The broadcaster of North Macedonia, MRT, has today released the names of the six finalists, competing to represent the country at the Eurovision Song Contest 2022 at Za Evrosong 2022.

From a total of 47 compositions, which met the required criteria, submitted to the competition, the expert commission selected the six entries to compete in the national selection.

1. Kalina Velkovska (Kaly) – Love and Light
Music: Davor Jordanovski Lyrics: Vesna Malinova

2. Yon Idy – Dreams
Music & Lyrics: Yon Idy

3. Lara Ivanova – Flower of Sorrow
Music: Robert Bilbilov Lyrics: Robin Zimbakov

4. Viktor Apostolovski – Superman
Music: Vladimir Dojcinovski Lyrics: Vladimir Dojcinovski and Viktor Apostolovski

5. Andrea Koevska – Circles
Music: Aleksandar Masevski Lyrics: Aleksandar Masevski and Andrea Koevska

6. Boris Cvetanovski – Flying To Berlin
Music: Boris Cvetanovski Lyrics: Boris Cvetanovski

Behind the songs we find many songwriters who already have experience in Eurovision Song Contest or Junior Eurovision Song Contest.

Davor Jordanovski co-wrote North Macedonia’s Eurovision entry “Here I Stand” last year, while Vesna Malinova has taken part in North Macedonia’s national selection several times before as a songwriter. She was also one of the songwriters of Bulgaria’s Junior Eurovision entry in 2021. Kalina Velkovska represented North Macedonia in 2016 as Kaliopi’s backing vocalist and the next year she was one of the jury members at the Eurovision Song Contest for North Macedonia.

Robert Bilbilov co-wrote North Macedonia’s Eurovision 2019 entry “Proud” and their Junior Eurovision entry “Green Forces” in 2021. He was also one of the jury members at the Eurovision Song Contest 2021. Robin Zimbakov also worked on “Green Forces” with Robert Bilbilov.

Vladimir Dojcinovski was among the songwriters of North Macedonia’s Eurovision 2011 entry “Rusinka” and Montenegro’s 2008 entry “Zauvijek volim te”. Aleksandar Masevski wrote two Junior Eurovision entries for North Macedonia, in 2016 and in 2017. He also was one of the jury members at the Eurovision Song Contest 2017.

For the selected six entries, MRT will produce lyric videos that will be posted on the online platform for public voting. The songs will be presented to the public on 28th of January, when the online voting will also begin. The voting platform will be open for 7 days, until 4th of February. The winner will be decided by online voting (50%) together with international expert jury (50%).

Which song are you most excited to hear? Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify and YouTube to see our reactions to the news in the run up to the 2022 national final season!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button