Turin 2022🇦🇹 Austria

ORF to announce Eurovision 2022 artist next week

Is it a two horse race for Austria?

Austria will announce their Eurovision 2022 artist next week, according to the head of Austrian delegation Eberhard Forcher. He made the announcement on his social media channels yesterday and issued a thanks to the artists who had come forward to represent the country.

Two names remain in the running, according to reports

Last week, Austrian media reported that two acts had been shortlisted for Eurovision, pop duo ANGER and DJ LUM!X.

ANGER’s popularity spans both inside of Austria and out, having performed at festivals in Germany and Spain. The duo already has a number-one on the FM4 radio charts and was awarded the FM4 award at the prestigious Amadeus Austrian Music Awards in 2020.

DJ LUM!X (Luca Michlmayr) has gained success with hits such as “The Passenger (LaLaLa)” and “Thunder“. In 2019, he released the song “Monster” with Gabry Ponte, who is known from the group Eiffel 65. The song has been reached over 200 million streams on Spotify and it has sold more than 400,000 copies in Germany, given the artists a platinum record.

Austria at the 2021 Eurovision Song Contest

In 2019, ORF announced that Vincent Bueno would represent Austria in the 2020 contest in Rotterdam with “Alive”. Despite the cancellation, ORF later announced that he had been internally-selected once again to represent Austria at the 2021 contest.

Vincent finally got his shot on the Eurovision stage back in May with “Amen”. Performing 5th in semi-final two, “Amen” ultimately placed 12th with a total of 66 points. This marked Austria’s second consecutive non-qualification.

Who is your favourite to represent Austria at the Eurovision 2022? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to subscribe to our YouTube channel to see our reactions to the news in the upcoming months.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button