Minsk 2018

Slovenia will not return to Junior Eurovision

RTVSLO confirmed that Slovenia will not be returning in the Junior Eurovision this year, making it the third year in a row that they refuse to compete.
It was announced by RTVSLO that the country will not be present in Minsk for the 2018 Junior Eurovision. The country last took part in 2015 and withdrew from the 2016 contest; the broadcaster cited the rule changes as the reason of their withdrawal.

Slovenia in Junior Eurovision

Slovenia debuted in the Junior Eurovision in 2014 and has so far competed only twice in in the competition. Their last participation was in 2015, which is also their best result so far. Lina Kuduzović represented the country with the song “Prva ljubezen” and placed 3rd behind Armenia and the winners of the competition, Malta. In addition, Raay and Marjetka Vovk (Maraaya), the Slovene representatives in Eurovision 2015, composed both of the country’s entries.

Junior Eurovision 2018

This year, the Junior Eurovision will be hosted in Minsk, Belarus and will take place on 25 November. Ten countries have confirmed their participation up to date, with France returning to the competition after their debut and only appearance in 2004 while Wales is making their debut this year.
So far, these are the countries that have confirmed their participation:

  • Armenia
  • Belarus
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Wales

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button