Turin 2022🇮🇹 Italy

Sanremo 2022 Campioni acts announced

The line-up includes SIX former Italian Eurovision representatives.

This evening, Rai have confirmed the line-up of Sanremo 2022. 22 of the 24 acts competing in the Campioni category of Sanremo were revealed on the TG broadcast on Rai 1 this evening at 8pm CET. The remaining two acts will be chosen at Sanremo Giovani on December 15.

Sanremo 2022 is due to take place between the 1st and 5th of February. Last month, a number of format changes for Sanremo 2022 were confirmed. Among them as the modification of the voting format and the removal of the Nuove Proposte category. Instead, two newcomers will be selected later this month to join the Campioni category.

The line-up (so far) is as follows:

  • Achille Lauro
  • AKA7even
  • Ana Mena
  • Dargen D’Amico
  • Ditonellapiaga & Donatella Rettore
  • Elisa
  • Emma
  • Fabrizio Moro
  • Giovanni Truppi
  • Giusy Ferreri
  • Highsnob & Hu
  • Irama
  • Iva Zanicchi
  • La Rappresentante di Lista
  • Le Vibrazioni
  • Mahmood ft. Blanco
  • Massimo Ranieri
  • Michelle Bravi
  • Morandi
  • Noemi
  • Sangiovani

The list features a number of returning artists, including four returning Italian Eurovision representatives (Mahmood – 2019, Fabrizio Moro – 2018, Emma – 2014, Massimo Ranieri – 1971 & 1973, Gianni Morandi – 1970 and IVA Zanicchi – 1969).

About Sanremo 2021

The 71st edition of Sanremo Music Festival took place between the 2nd and 6th March 2021. This was later than usual, having been pushed back due to the ongoing pandemic, which also caused other changes for the festival. For one, after weeks of exchanges between Sanremo’s Artistic Director Amadeus, the CTS and Rai, the festival did not have a live audience.

Despite the protocols, the festival went ahead with 26 participating artists. Alongside Amadeus and Floriello, the shows were co-hosted by Matilda De Angelis, Elodie, Vittoria Ceretti, Barbara Palombelli and Beatrice Venezi. Night one was opened with a performance of “Fai Rumore” by Diodato, who won the 2020 edition.

On night five, 26 became three, with Måneskin, Michielin and Fedez and Ermal Meta advancing to the superfinal. Ultimately, Måneskin triumphed with a staggering 53.5% of the vote. This success translated to Eurovision victory, winning the contest in Rotterdam with 524 points.

Are you looking forward to Sanremo 2022? What do you think of the line-up? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify and YouTube to see our reactions to the news in the run up to the 2022 national final season!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button