Minsk 2018

Junior Eurovision: You can now listen to Malta’s national final songs!

Junior Eurovision is now less than three months away and countries are beginning to select their entrants for Minsk. On Saturday, Malta will select their representative and PBS has now revealed all the songs that will participate in the national final. 

16 original songs

As we reported last month, Luana Schembriwill open the show with “No Rest for the Wicked”. Instead, Thea Aquilinawill close the show with “Back to My Freedom”. You can now listen to all the participating entries and it is the first time Malta’s national final features original songs since 2010. You can listen to all the songs on PBS’s website here

All sixteen artists and songs are as follows:

  • Giorgia Borg – 10
  • Thea Aquilina – Back to My Freedom
  • Isaac Spiteri – Bonfire Nights
  • Yarin Coleiro – Can You Be the One
  • Kylie Meilak – Crystals
  • Lora Grech – Finish Line
  • Jahel Cardona – Home
  • Riona Degiorgio – Infinity
  • Ela Mangion – Marchin’ On
  • Eliana Gomez Blanco – Music Takes Control
  • Kristy Spiteri – Nann
  • Luana Schembri – No Rest for the Wicked
  • Albert-Lauren Agius – Paper Boats
  • Zaira Mifsud – Shout Now
  • Katryna Borg and Rihana Azzopardi – The Puppet and the Clown
  • Aiden Aquilina Cohen – Wherever You Go

Malta in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest

Malta debuted in the very first Junior Eurovision Song Contest back in 2003 with Sarah Harrison. It has so far participated 13 times, only missing out in 2011 and 2012. Since returning to the contest in 2013 it has enjoyed consistently good results, never missing out on a top 10. It won the contest twice, in 2013 with Gaia Cauchi and 2015 with Destiny Chukunyere. In 2017 Gianluca Cilia represented Malta with his charismatic entry “Dawra tond”, finishing 9th with 107 points. You can read more about Malta’s Junior Eurovision journey in our feature here

Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018

Belarus’s capital Minsk will be the host of the 2018 edition of Junior Eurovision. This is the second time the event takes place in the city, who previously hosted it in 2010. A record-breaking 20 countries will participate in Minsk on November 25. Wales and Kazakhstan will both make a debut with Kazakhstan participating for the first time to any Eurovision related event. Besides, the contest will also feature three returning countries: France, that last participated in 2004, Azerbaijan that last participated in 2013 and Israel that last participated in 2016. Last year’s participant Cyprus will instead withdraw from the competition.

What kind of song are you hoping Malta will send to Minsk? Which is your favourite song of their national final? What is your favourite Maltese entry at the contest so far? 

Let us know in the comment section below or on all social media platforms @ESCXTRA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button