The Scoop🇬🇧 United Kingdom

🇬🇧 BBC announces “Eurovision: Come Together” entries

From "Volare" to "Soldi"...

British broadcaster, BBC, have announced the 19 entries taking part in “Eurovision: Come Together” tonight (16th May). The British public will be able to vote for their favourite entries from the shortlist, determined by a “diverse mix of panellists”.

Each panellist was asked to choose their ten favourite Eurovision songs that they believed were “modern day classics or songs that have stood the test of time”. The “expert panel” includes semi-final commentators Rylan Clark-Neal and Scott Mills, Radio 2’s Ken Bruce and former UK Eurovision acts SuRie and Nicki French.

12 former winners plus fan favourites!

The shortlist, as determined by the BBC and the panellists, includes a dozen past winners of the contest including three British winners and a further seven memorable Eurovision performances. The full list of selected entries can be seen below:

  • 🇮🇹 Domenico Mudugno – Nel Blu Dipinto Di Blu (Italy 1958)
  • 🇱🇺 France Gall – Poupée de cire, poupée de son (Luxembourg 1965)
  • 🇸🇪 ABBA – Waterloo (Sweden 1974)
  • 🇬🇧 Brotherhood of Man – Save Your Kisses For Me (United Kingdom 1976)
  • 🇬🇧 Bucks Fizz – Making Your Mind Up (United Kingdom 1981)
  • 🇬🇧 Gina G – Ooh… Aah… Just A Little Bit (United Kingdom 1996)
  • 🇬🇧 Katrina & The Waves – Love Shine A Light (United Kingdom 1997)
  • 🇮🇱 Dana International – Diva (Israel 1998)
  • 🇺🇦 Verka Serduchka – Dancing Lasha Tumbai (Ukraine 2007)
  • 🇳🇴 Alexander Rybak – Fairytale (Norway 2009)
  • 🇩🇪 Lena – Satellite (Germany 2010)
  • 🇸🇪 Loreen – Euphoria (Sweden 2012)
  • 🇦🇹 Conchita Wurst – Rise Like A Phoenix (Austria 2014)
  • 🇸🇪 Måns ZelmerlöwHeroes (Sweden 2015)
  • 🇧🇪 Loïc Nottet – Rhythm Inside (Belgium 2015)
  • 🇦🇺 Dami Im – Sound of Silence (Australia 2016)
  • 🇮🇱 Netta – Toy (Israel 2018)
  • 🇨🇾 Eleni Foureira – Fuego (Cyprus 2018)
  • 🇮🇹 Mahmood – Soldi (Italy 2019)

Voting as part of a Eurovision night

British Eurovision fans will be able to vote for their favourite song during the show which will be broadcast at 18:25 BST (19:25 CEST). Voting will take place on the BBC Eurovision website. “Eurovision: Come Together” will be held as part of a Eurovision night across BBC One and BBC Two.

The night will begin on BBC One with a Eurovision special of Pointless Celebrities at 17:40 BST with past Eurovision artists taking part including Dana, SuRie and John Lundvik. This will be followed by “Eurovision: Come Together”. At 20:00 BST, BBC One will go live to Hilversum to join the rest of Europe in broadcasting “Eurovision: Europe Shine A Light”.

Eurovision broadcasting will continue on BBC Two at 22:00 BST, with a Eurovision special – “The A-Z of Eurovision” – presented by Rylan Clark-Neal. The “Eurovision night” will finish with a repeat of a Eurovision special of Top of The Pops at 23:00 BST.

Are you happy with the entries shortlisted for the show? Will you be voting for your favourite?

Let us know in the comments below and on social media @ESCXTRA.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button