The Scoop

#EurovisionAgain to continue monthly from July

The road from Malmö to Belgrade continues!

Tonight marks the last #EurovisionAgain of season one – however, it was announced this morning that the nostalgia-filled event will be back for a second season, starting on 18 July.

The second season will run until the 2021 national final season, with the possible exception of December. A new contest from the Eurovision archives will be shown on every third Saturday of the month. The first #EurovisionAgain was held on 21 March, when fans across Europe rewatched Malmö 2013.

“We want to give you more”

On Twitter this morning, #EurovisionAgain announced that the initiative would continue on a monthly basis, beginning in July.

Over the past 14 weeks, Eurovision fans have been tweeting along with rebroadcasts of past Eurovision contests. The hashtag #EurovisionAgain has trended in several countries, including in the UK where it has regularly trended at number one. At its peak, the shows have been watched by 127,000 viewers on YouTube.

From Belgrade to… where?

Last weekend, the #EurovisionAgain team and the EBU showed the 2008 contest, held in Belgrade, and fans voted for Ukraine’s “Shady Lady” as their favourite song. Tonight, the “grand finale” of season one will be held – but where? The year will be revealed on Twitter at 20:45 CEST (19:45 BST).

The show will premiere on the Eurovision YouTube channel at 21:00 CEST (20:00 BST) and fans will be able to tweet along again using the #EurovisionAgain hashtag.

Founder, Rob Holley, also confirmed this morning that the 2006 grand final, which was held in Athens, will be uploaded in higher quality “at some point” online. The contest was the second to be shown as part of the project, and the last one before the EBU got involved.

Are you happy that #EurovisionAgain will continue beyond tonight’s show? Will you be watching the season finale tonight?

Let us know in the comments below and on social media @ESCXTRA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button