Eurovision alumni feature in the credits of new Steps album “What the Future Holds”

Pop music fans were delighted this week when British pop group Steps announced the release of their sixth studio album “What the Future Holds” as well as the lead single of the same name. With the songwriting and production credits leaking on Twitter, several of which have been officially confirmed by Musicweek, we see a number of names from the Eurovision family involved!

From Swedish stars…

Most notably, 2013 Swedish Eurovision representative Robin Stjernberg is reported to be involved in the penultimate track on the album “Hold My Heart”. The track is also co-written with Isa Molin, who wrote Lisa Ajax’s Melodifestivalen 2019 entry “Torn”.

Another eye-catching name is Thomas G:son, who won the 2012 Eurovision Song Contest as composer of Loreen’s “Euphoria”. Now a significant name in the Eurovision world, he has also composed Eurovision hits such as “Invincible” for Carola, “In a Moment Like This” for Chanée & N’evergreen, “Alter Ego” for Minus One, “The Best in Me” for Tom Leeb and “Warrior” for Nina Sublatti. His track for Steps, “Something In Your Eyes”, is a cover of Jenny Silver’s Melodifestivalen 2011 entry which reached the Second Chance round.

…to Australia and Norway!

Furthermore, we have “Eurovision – Australia Decides” 2019 entrant Tania Doko contributing to “Don’t You Leave Us Halfway”. Tania, who rose to fame as one half of pop duo Bachelor Girl in the late 1990s, entered “Piece of Me” into SBS’ first-ever Eurovision national selection. In the competition won by Kate Miller-Heidke, Doko placed eighth.

Ina Wroldsen is another musician who has been around the Eurovision world for some time who appears on the new Steps album. “Father’s Eyes” was originally performed by Ina herself as part of her duo Ask Embla. Her almost-Eurovision moment came in 2013 as co-writer of Adelén’s Melodi Grand Prix entry “Bombo”. The track placed second behind Margaret Berger’s “I Feed You My Love” in one of the most memorable national final battles in recent memory. In addition, Wroldsen has worked with 2009 United Kingdom representative Jade Ewen on her 2010 single “My Man”, 2015 German entrant Ann Sophie on “I Believed” and 2014 Swedish representative Sanna Nielsen on multiple tracks from her album “7”.

More pop heavyweights

Finally, we also see names such as Hannah Robinson who has previously worked with 2008 German representatives No Angels, “The X Factor UK” finalist Laura White who has written multiple entries in the BBC’s “Eurovision: You Decide” selection as well as pop heavyweight singer-songwriters Sia (“Chandelier”, “Titanium”), MNEK (“Touch”, “Head & Heart”) and Rachel Furner (“Secret Love Song”, “Dumb”).

Steps will release “What the Future Holds” on November 27, so just a couple of months until we hear what these Eurovision stars have created with this British pop phenomenon. You can listen to the lead single of the same name below.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button