MusicThe Scoop

Eurovision winners ABBA and Måneskin receive nominations at 2023 Grammy Awards

ABBA score four nominations as Måneskin nominated for 'Best New Artist'

Last night the Recording Academy announced the nominations for the 2023 Grammy Awards. Among the nominees are the Eurovision 1974 winners ABBA, who have scored nominations across four categories and Eurovision 2021 winners Måneskin who pick up a nomination for ‘Best New Artist’.

Grammy Awards take a chance on ABBA with four nominations

Back in early 2021, ABBA announced their comeback with brand new music after a 40-year absence. Along with an ambitious, digitally produced, live ABBA Voyage Tour. As well as this, the Eurovision 1974 winning super troopers released ninth studio album Voyage, a journey the ABBAMania fanatics had been waiting decades for. More than worth the wait, the album charted at no.1 in 19 countries worldwide, while also smashing UK chart records. Last September ‘I Still Have Faith In You’ was jointly released as the first comeback singles, along with ‘Don’t Shut Me Down’. Both tracks sailing to UK chart success.

Following this, the Recording Academy recognised this success and nominated the Swedish group in the ‘Record of the Year’ category; their first ever Grammy nomination after 48-years, for the single ‘I Still Have Faith In You’.

Last night the Recording Academy announced no less than four nominations for ABBA at the 2023 Grammy Awards. This is the biggest show that recognises music achievement in the industry. These are as follows:

  • ‘Album of the Year’ – ABBA Voyage
  • ‘Record of the Year’ – ‘Don’t Shut Me Down’
  • ‘Best Pop Vocal Album’ – ABBA Voyage
  • ‘Best Pop Duo/Group Performance – ‘Don’t Shut Me Down’

The ‘Album of the Year’ and ‘Record of the Year’ awards are the two most prestigious categories. The former acknowledges artistic achievement and overall quality, disregarding commercial success. Whilst the latter recognises music engineering, production and mastering. As well as the performance quality of the nominated song. Moreover the nominations are based on the votes of music industry peers and students, such as fellow artists, producers and musicians. Although ABBA are yet to win a Grammy, the group have been inducted into the Grammy Hall of Fame for 1976 hit ‘Dancing Queen’.

Måneskin nominated for ‘Best New Artist’

Already the Italian Eurovision winning rockers have had a taster of the Grammys experience. Last year Måneskin announced the nominees in the classical categories. Moreover, the band have taken their Eurovision success across Europe and America with success at the MTV VMAs and MTV EMAs, as well as the Billboard Music Awards. Recently Måneskin embarked on their LOUD KIDS World Tour and released newest single, ‘THE LONELIEST‘.

This time around the Recording Academy has put forward the band as nominated artists in their own right in the ‘Best New Artist’ category. This award celebrates acts who have broken through and made an impression on the music landscape. Overall 10 acts have been nominated including:

  • Anitta
  • Omar Apollo
  • DOMi & JD Beck
  • Muni Long
  • Samara Joy
  • Latto
  • Måneskin
  • Tobe Nwigwe
  • Molly Tuttle
  • Wet Leg

Eurovision success at the Grammys

When many have cried “Too good for Eurovision!” the Recording Academy has most definitely disagreed. Over the decades, many names from Eurovision past and present have been been acknowledged for their contribution to the music industry. Previous winners at the Grammys include – Celine Dion, Olivia Newton-John , Domenico Modugno and Julio Iglesias. Meanwhile Gina G, Bonnie Tyler, Il Volo and of course ABBA, have also received nominations in past years.

However, only two Eurovision entries in the history of the Grammys have been nominated. During the first ever Grammy Awards in 1959, ‘Nel Blu, Dipinto Di Blu’, which came third for Italy in the 1958 contest, went on to win ‘Song of the Year’ and ‘Record of the Year’. Thus, this remains the only Eurovision entry to ever win a Grammy. Much later in the 1996, Gina G’s UK entry ‘Ooh Aah… Just A Little Bit‘ saw the Australian pick up a nomination for ‘Best Dance Recording’.

You can find out how ABBA and Måneskin get on by tuning in to the 65th Annual Grammy Awards February 5th 2023 on CBS and Paramount+. (8pm ET/5pm PT, 1am GMT, 2am CET, 12pm AEDT).

Can ABBA and Måneskin win their first Grammy Awards? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter, @escxtra on Instagram, @escxtra on TikTok and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify for the latest music from your favourite Eurovision acts. As well as YouTube to see our reactions to the news in the run up to the new Eurovision season.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button