EurovisionMalmö 2024🇸🇪 Sweden

Melodifestivalen 2024 Heat 5 and Final Qualification Results

The excitement was palpable in Karlstad’s Löfbergs Arena on March 2, 2024, as Melodifestivalen’s fifth heat unfolded, showcasing some of Sweden’s finest musical talents. The stakes were high, with the final spots for the grand final on March 9 at the Friends Arena in Stockholm up for grabs.

R/O Artist Song Result
1 Marcus & Martinus “Unforgettable” Final
2 Chelsea Muco “Controlla” Out
3 Jay Smith “Back to My Roots” Final qual.
4 Elecktra “Banne maj” Out
5 Annika Wickihalder “Light” Final qual.
6 Medina “Que Sera” Final

In a night filled with diverse musical acts, Marcus & Martinus, with their hit “Unforgettable,” took the lead in round one, securing their spot in the final. The competition was fierce, but Medina’s “Que Sera” won over the audience, leading the pack and also advancing directly to the final.

Artist Song Heat Points Final qualification Points Total Points Place Result
Elisa Lindström “Forever Yours” 84 58 142 10 Out
Adam Woods “Supernatural” 106 83 189 6 Out
Dear Sara “The Silence After You” 103 66 169 8 Out
Fröken Snusk “Unga & fria” 111 124 235 3 Out
Klaudy “För dig” 86 78 164 9 Out
Gunilla Persson “I Won’t Shake (La La Gunilla)” 101 113 214 5 Out
Albin Tingwall “Done Getting Over You” 96 89 185 7 Out
Scarlet “Circus X” 100 122 222 4 Out
Annika Wickihalder “Light” 107 138 245 1 Final
Jay Smith “Back to My Roots” 106 129 235 2 Final

Annika Wickihalder’s touching performance of “Light” and Jay Smith’s heartfelt “Back to My Roots” resonated with viewers, both securing their final qualifications in an intense round of voting. Despite strong performances, Chelsea Muco with “Controlla” and Elecktra’s “Banne maj” were among the acts that didn’t make it through.

The second chance round brought back hopefuls from previous heats for one last shot at the final. It was a tense evening, but Annika Wickihalder, riding high from her success in the fifth heat, and Jay Smith emerged victorious, clinching the final spots in next Saturday’s showdown.

Artist Song
Smash Into Pieces “Heroes Are Calling”
Lisa Ajax “Awful Liar”
Liamoo “Dragon”
Maria Sur “When I’m Gone”
Jacqline “Effortless”
Cazzi Opeia “Give My Heart a Break”
Danny Saucedo “Happy That You Found Me”
Dotter “It’s Not Easy to Write a Love Song”
Marcus & Martinus “Unforgettable”
Medina “Que Sera”
Annika Wickihalder “Light”
Jay Smith “Back to My Roots”

The final lineup for Melodifestivalen 2024 is now complete, boasting a mix of genres and styles. Viewers can look forward to performances from Smash Into Pieces with “Heroes Are Calling”, Lisa Ajax’s “Awful Liar”, Liamoo’s “Dragon”, Maria Sur’s “When I’m Gone”, Jacqline’s “Effortless”, Cazzi Opeia’s “Give My Heart a Break”, Danny Saucedo’s “Happy That You Found Me”, Dotter’s “It’s Not Easy to Write a Love Song”, alongside the newly qualified Marcus & Martinus, Medina, Annika Wickihalder, and Jay Smith.

The competition has been fierce, with 2,624 applications whittled down to these final acts, all hoping to represent Sweden at Eurovision. The selection process, involving both public submissions and direct invitations, underscores the diversity and depth of Swedish music.

As Melodifestivalen 2024 heads into its grand finale, fans are eagerly anticipating what promises to be a spectacular night of performances. The final, set for March 9, 2024, at the Friends Arena in Stockholm, will decide who will carry the Swedish flag at the Eurovision Song Contest on home soil. The anticipation is building for what is sure to be a memorable end to this year’s Melodifestivalen saga.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button