Minsk 2018

Broadcaster deadline for Minsk now known

With the main event now over for another year, all eyes are firmly set on Minsk – the host city for this year’s Junior Eurovision Song Contest.
While we already know that the event will take place on 25th November at the Minsk-Arena in Belarus,  it has until now been unclear as to when broadcaster’s must submit their applications in order to secure their place in the competition.
Our friends at Eurovoix contacted the EBU for clarification on the submission deadline and received a response today, confirming that broadcasters must register their interest by 29th June.

Confirmations begin rolling in

As of yet, nine countries have confirmed their participation at this year’s contest. Wales will debut for the first time with broadcaster S4C already making progress in their quest to find the perfect entry.   France meanwhile, will return to the competition after a 14 year hiatus.
The confirmed list as of yet includes:

  • Armenia
  • Belarus
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Wales

Polina Bogusevich won the 2017 Junior Eurovision Song Contest for Russia with the song Wings.

Which countries would you like to see make their debut or return to the Junior Eurovision Song Contest?  Let us know who you have in mind by dropping us a comment!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button