Minsk 2018

Junior Eurovision: Malta confirms participation

It will be Malta's 14th appearance at the contest

As the June 29 deadline fast approaches, more countries reveal their plans for Minsk. Malta’s broadcaster (PBS) is the latest to confirm that they will participate in the 2018 edition of Junior Eurovision. 

National final to feature original songs

The selection process features some changes compared to previous years. Since returning in 2013, Malta used a national final only to select the entrant. Participants performed covers of songs of their choice in the show and the song was later internally selected. Instead, this year the national final will feature original songs for the first time since 2010. In order to be eligible for participation, potential the following criteria must be met:

  • The song must be between two and a half and three minutes.
  • Singers taking part to the contest must be Maltese
  • Singers must be involved in the writing or composition of the song

Submission window will close on July 20

PBS will accept entries until July 20 and will reveal the list of the 16 finalists on August 3. The finalists will then compete in a televised show that will take place sometime in September. The winner will earn the right to fly the Maltese flag in Minsk next November.

Malta in the Junior Eurovision Song Conte

Malta debuted in the very first Junior Eurovision Song Contest back in 2003 with Sarah Harrison. It has so far participated 13 times, only missing out in 2011 and 2012. Since returning to the contest in 2013 it has enjoyed consistently good results, never missing out on a top 10. It won the contest twice, in 2013 with Gaia Cauchi and 2015 with Destiny Chukunyere. In 2017 Gianluca Cilia represented Malta with his charismatic entry “Dawra tond”, finishing 9th with 107 points.

Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018

Belarus’s capital Minsk will  host the 2018 edition of Junior Eurovision. This is the second time the event takes place in the city, who previously hosted it in 2010. So far, 12 countries have confirmed their intent of participating in Minsk. France will return to the contest for the first time since their only appearance in 2004, and Wales will instead make a debut.
Will Malta score its third win in Minsk? Did you like Malta’s 2017 entry in the show? 
Let us know in the comments below or on social media @ESCXTRA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button