Minsk 2018

Junior Eurovision: Known names apply to host

A former winner, former entrants and former hosts among candidates

Belarusian website belta.by reported that around 100 people have applied to be the hosts of this year’s edition of Junior Eurovision. Additionally, they noted that many familiar faces in the country’s Junior Eurovision world are among the hopefuls. 

A past winner and three past entrants

Ksenia Sitnik, who won the contest back in 2005 is among the 100 or so people aiming to host this year’s Junior Eurovision. And she isn’t the only known face. In fact, three former and more recent entrants also joined the race: Nadezhda Misyakova (2014), Ruslan Aslanov (2015) and last year’s entrant Helena Meerai. Furthermore, 2010 host Leila Ismailova also applied, hoping to host the contest again.

Auditions to be held in August

In order to select the hosts of the show, BTRC will carry out a series of auditions that will take place in August. Gordon Bonnello, the director of the 2018 show, will also be involved in the selection of the host. Ideal candidates for the job are fluent in English, are able to improvise and perform on stage and are comfortable in front of cameras. While not required, previous experience with live television or major production is a plus.

Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018

Belarus’s capital Minsk will be the host of the 2018 edition of Junior Eurovision. This is the second time the event takes place in the city, who previously hosted it in 2010. The city was selected as host last year, before the 2017 edition of the show. So far, 14 countries have confirmed their intent of participating in Minsk, and they are:

  • Armenia
  • Belarus
  • France
  • FYR Macedonia
  • Georgia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Netherlands
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Wales

France will return to the contest, having only participated once back in 2004, and Wales will instead make a debut.
At the moment two countries that participated to the contest last year (Albania and Australia) have yet to make a statement regarding their intentions for Minsk. On the other hand, two countries that participated last year, Cyprus and Ukraine, both confirmed their withdrawal from the competition.
Are you looking forward to Junior Eurovision 2018? Do you think any of the past entrants will be one of the next hosts?
Let us know in the comments below or on social media @ESCXTRA.

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button