The Scoop

Eurovision and Melodifestivalen acts involved in the making of EXO D.O.’s debut album

It’s an unlikely combination, but one that seems to happen regularly nowadays. Eurovision acts Benjamin Ingrosso, Axel Ehnström (Paradise Oskar) and Melfest’s Danny Saucedo have been credited for K-Pop artist EXO D.O’s debut mini-album.

A Scandinavian touch

Doh Kyungsoo, better known by his stage name D.O., is a K-Pop idol from the group EXO who debuted in 2012. Recently, he released his solo mini-album Empathy which includes the title track “Rose” in both Korean and English. For those who are both Eurovision and K-Pop fans, they might have recognised a couple of names in the credits. Benjamin Ingrosso (Sweden 2018) and Axel Ehnström (Finland 2011 as Paradise Oskar) were revealed to have been involved in the title track.

Additionally, this isn’t the first time Benjamin has been involved in K-Pop songs. He has worked with other big names such as NCT Dream and GOT7. On the release day of D.O’s solo debut, he shared his work to his followers on Instagram.

Meanwhile, Danny Saucedo, who competed in this year’s Melodifestivalen, wrote and composed the track “Si Fueras Mía”. Danny revealed to have worked with Andreas Öberg, who is certainly no stranger to producing K-Pop songs.

“Oh, oh, oh! I wrote this song a year ago with Andreas Öberg and today it was released together with D.O.”

Listen to D.O.’s debut mini-album here, and watch the music video for his title track “Rose”:

What do you think of the songs Benjamin, Aksel and Danny produced? Would you like to see more Eurovision/K-Pop crossovers in the future? Let us know in the comments!

Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on TwitterAs well as @escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, make sure you subscribe to our YouTube channel to see our reactions to the news in the upcoming months.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button