Paris 2021πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ύ Cyprus

πŸ‡¨πŸ‡Ύ Cyprus will not return to Junior Eurovision in 2021

They initially withdrew from the contest in 2017

Although Junior Eurovision 2021 will see the return of countries such as Albania, Azerbaijan, Ireland, North Macedonia and Portugal, Cyprus will not be joining this list. CyBC have ruled out a return to the Junior Eurovision Song Contest this year.

Cypriot broadcaster CyBC have confirmed to Eurovoix that they will not be returning to the Junior Eurovision Song Contest this year. Cyprus initially withdrew from Junior Eurovision following the 2017 contest, without announcing a reason. However, this was possibly linked to their last-place finish in Tbilisi. In 2019, the delegation cited “management decision” for their non-participation.

With this announcement, Cyprus have joined the list of non-returning countries alongside Belgium, Bulgaria, Israel, Italy, Lithuania, San Marino and Wales.

Junior Eurovision 2021 so far

Only days after Valentina’s win, the EBU were quick to confirm that we will be travelling to France for the 18th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. The contest will take place on December 19th at La Seine Musicale. The slogan of the contest will be Imagine, and the logo was unveiled in August.

At this point, fifteen countries have confirmed to participate in the JESC edition of 2021. 

  • Albania
  • Azerbaijan
  • Ireland
  • France
  • Georgia
  • Germany
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • North Macedonia
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Spain
  • Ukraine

It’s still early, so we expect more countries to participate. Stay tuned for more updates!

Are you sad that Cyprus aren’t returning? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify and YouTube to see our reactions to the news in the run up to the 2022 national final season!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button