Paris 2021🇷🇸 Serbia

🇷🇸 Jovana and Dunja to represent Serbia at Junior Eurovision 2021

Their entry, “Oči deteta”, is due to be released at the end of October.

Today, Serbian broadcaster RTS has announced that due Jovana and Dunja will represent Serbia at Junior Eurovision 2021. They are currently finalising their entry, “Oči deteta”, which is due to be released at the end of the month.

RTS has announced that 10-year-old Jovana Radonjić and 11-year-old Dunja Zivkovic will represent Serbia at the 2021 Junior Eurovision Song Contest. Both the duo and the song, titled “Oči deteta” (Children’s Eyes), were selected internally out of seven submissions received by an expert jury.

The song was written and composed by Ana Frlin. The final version of the song is being developed and is due to be released by the end of October.

The internal selection was held over three stages:

  • Stage one: All seven submissions were assessed by a jury.
  • Stage two: Four submissions were invited to perform their song.
  • Stage three: RTS music editors ranked the songs (three points to 1st, two to 2nd and one to 3rd).

The broadcaster has also published the names of the three other submissions that made it through to the final round of the selection:

  • Sara Simić & Tomislav Božović – “Dete od snova”
  • Tara Šujeranović – “Osmeh”
  • Veljko Kovačević – “U dobru i u zlu”

About Junior Eurovision 2021

Only days after Valentina’s win, the EBU were quick to confirm that we will be travelling to France for the 19th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. The contest will take place on December 19th at La Seine Musicale. The slogan of the contest will be Imagine, and the logo was unveiled in August. At this time it is uncertain if the contest will be held in person or remotely once more. Recently the EBU outlined a series of planned scenarios to satisfy the conditions at the time.

In total, the following 19 countries have been confirmed by the EBU as taking part in the 19th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan – Sona Azizova
  • Bulgaria
  • France
  • Germany – Pauline
  • Georgia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Kazakhstan
  • Malta
  • Netherlands – Ayana
  • North Macedonia
  • Poland – Sara James
  • Portugal – Simão Oliveira
  • Russia
  • Serbia – Jovana and Dunja
  • Spain
  • Ukraine – Levi Díaz

Among the 19 we see returns for Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Ireland, Italy, North Macedonia and Portugal. However there are withdrawals for Australia again, and of course the expulsion of Belarus. The Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2021 will be broadcast live on December 19 and starts at 17:00 CET. Stay tuned in the coming weeks and months ahead, as broadcasters begin selecting their acts for Paris 2021!

Are you looking forward to hearing “Oči deteta”? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify and YouTube to see our reactions to the news in the run up to the 2022 national final season!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button