Paris 2021🇲🇹 Malta

Ike & Kaya win MJESC 2021

The duo triumphed over 11 other MJESC finalists.

Malta have chosen their artist for Junior Eurovision 2021. Duo Ike & Kaya have won MJESC 2021 and the ticket to Paris with “My Home.

On Saturday, 12 acts took to the stage at the Robert Sammut Hall for MJESC, with the winner being chosen by 50% jury voting and 50% public voting.

Duo Ike & Kaya triumphed with “My Home”. Earlier this year, the pair placed fourth in Malta’s Got Talent.

The running order and top three were as follows:

  1. Emma Briffa – My Angels Calling
  2. Kylie Milcallef – Keep Your Drama
  3. Maria Curmi – Wild and Free
  4. Yulan Law – Change
  5. Eksenia Sammut – Building
  6. Amelia Kalabic – Dear World
  7. Rih & Bri – Drops like fire
  8. Ella Raina – Limitless
  9. Ike & Kaya – My Home – 1st
  10. Yulan Law – On My Way – 3rd
  11. Marija Djinovic – Magic
  12. Myca, Kylie & Denzel Jo – Running Free – 2nd

About Junior Eurovision 2021

Only days after Valentina’s win, the EBU were quick to confirm that we will be travelling to France for the 19th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. The contest will take place on December 19th at La Seine Musicale. The slogan of the contest will be Imagine, and the logo was unveiled in August. At this time it is uncertain if the contest will be held in person or remotely once more. Recently the EBU outlined a series of planned scenarios to satisfy the conditions at the time.

In total, the following 19 countries have been confirmed by the EBU as taking part in the 19th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan – Sona Azizova
  • Bulgaria
  • France
  • Germany – Pauline
  • Georgia
  • Ireland – Maiú Levi Lawlor
  • Italy
  • Kazakhstan
  • Malta – Ike and Kaya
  • Netherlands – Ayana
  • North Macedonia – The Cast of Dajte muzika
  • Poland – Sara James
  • Portugal – Simão Oliveira
  • Russia
  • Serbia – Jovana and Dunja
  • Spain – Levi Díaz
  • Ukraine

Among the 19 we see returns for Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Ireland, Italy, North Macedonia and Portugal. However there are withdrawals for Australia again, and of course the expulsion of Belarus. The Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2021 will be broadcast live on December 19 and starts at 17:00 CET. Stay tuned in the coming weeks and months ahead, as broadcasters begin selecting their acts for Paris 2021!

Did Malta make the correct decision? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify and YouTube to see our reactions to the news in the run up to the 2022 national final season!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button