Minsk 2018

Junior Eurovision: Ukraine’s national final jury members revealed

Earlier this summer, Ukraine announced they would withdraw from Junior Eurovision. However, to the surprise of many, they later confirmed they will indeed take part in Minsk. Now UA:PBC revealed more details on their selection. 

5 music experts to select the 10 finalists

Singers potentially interested in representing Ukraine at Junior Eurovision had until August 26 to put their name forward. Now UA:PBC also announced the 5 music experts that will be responsible to select the 10 competing entries for Ukraine’s national final. The members of the jury are: 

  • Taras Topolya – Frontman of Ukrainian band “antibodies”
  • Sasha Koltsova – Singer
  • Laud – Singer and composer (also competed in Ukraine national selection for Eurovision in 2018)
  • Sofia Kucenko – Singer and winner of international competitions
  • Maria Burmaka – Head judge

The 10 finalists will be announced tomorrow, August 28. The show will take place at a later date, with the winner being decided by online voting. 

Ukraine in the Junior Eurovision Song Contest

Ukraine first participated at Junior Eurovision Song Contest in 2006, and participated every year since. The country also hosted the contest in both 2009 and 2013 in their capital city of Kyiv. Besides, Ukraine also won the contest in 2012, courtesy of Anastasia Petryk and her entry “Nebo”. Furthermore, Ukraine has two runner-up finishes to their name. These were earned by Viktoria Petryk, Anastasia’s older sister, in 2008 and Sofia Tarasova on home soil in 2013.

Despite strong initial results, Ukraine’s fortunes at Junior Eurovision has dipped slightly in recent years. In fact, in 2015 and 2016, Ukraine missed the top 10 for two consecutive years with Anna Trincher placing 11th and Sofia Rol placing 14th respectively. Anastasiya Baginska was more successful in Tbilisi last year, with “Don’t Stop” finishing in 7th place. 

You can read about the country’s Junior Eurovision journey in our feature here.

Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018

Belarus’s capital Minsk will be the host of the 2018 edition of Junior Eurovision. This is the second time the event takes place in the city, that previously hosted it in 2010. A record-breaking 20 countries will participate in Minsk on November 25. Wales and Kazakhstan will both make a debut with Kazakhstan participating for the first time to any Eurovision related event. Furthermore,  the contest will also feature three returning countries: France, that last participated in 2004, Azerbaijan that last participated in 2013 and Israel that last participated in 2016. Unfortunately,  Cyprus instead confirmed its withdrawal from the competition.

What is your favourite Ukrainian entry at Junior Eurovision? What kind of song are you hoping they will send to Minsk? 

Let us know in the comments below or on social media @ESCXTRA.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button