Minsk 2018

Junior Eurovision: Kazakhstan reveals 11 members of selection jury

In late July, Kazakhstan’s Khabar Agency confirmed they would use a national final to pick their first Junior Eurovision representative. Recently, they also published the names of the 11 members of the jury that will help select the participating songs. 

Singers and TV personalities among the jurors

Singers interested in potentially representing Kazakhstan in Minsk had until the 31st of August to submit an entry to the broadcaster. Now that the submission window is closed, the 11-members jury has the responsibility to pick the songs that will participate in the national final. Among the 11 jurors are singers, performers,  journalists and TV personalities and they are: 

  1. Tamara Assar
  2. Mariya Sadvakasova
  3. Erke Esmahan
  4. Kairat Nurtas
  5. Roza Rymbaeva
  6. Alan Azhibayev
  7. Lyalla Sultankyzy
  8. Renat Gaisin
  9. Bagim Mukhitdenova
  10. Meirambek Bespaev
  11. Dimash Kudaibergenov

Televised national final

After the jurors select the participating songs, the final stage of the selection will consist in a televised broadcast to determine the country’s first ever representative at a Eurovision-related event. Currently, the number of songs that will participate in the national final is unknown. However, we should know the participating songs and artists by the 7th of September. Finally, the national final will take place in the third week of September and will be broadcast live on Khabar Agency. 

Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2018

Belarus’s capital Minsk will be the host of the 2018 edition of Junior Eurovision. This is the second time the event takes place in the city, that previously hosted it in 2010. A record-breaking 20 countries will participate in Minsk on November 25. Wales and Kazakhstan will both make a debut with Kazakhstan participating for the first time to any Eurovision related event. Furthermore,  the contest will also feature three returning countries: France, that last participated in 2004, Azerbaijan that last participated in 2013 and Israel that last participated in 2016. Unfortunately,  Cyprus instead confirmed its withdrawal from the competition.

Are you happy to see Kazakhstan at Junior Eurovision this year? What kind of song are you hoping they will send to Minsk?

Let us know in the comment section below or on all social media platforms @ESCXTRA

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button