Paris 2021🇦🇱 Albania

🇦🇱 Albania open submissions for Junior Eurovision 2021 entries

The deadline for submissions is October 15

Despite earlier reports suggesting that RTSH are planning to internally-select their entry for the 2021 Junior Eurovision Song Contest, the broadcaster has opened submissions for Junior Fest. The deadline for submissions is October 15.

Following reports that broadcaster RTSH will not be using the Junior Fest format to select its representative, broadcaster RTSH have opened the submissions window for entries using the Junior Fest branding. The format of the selection has yet to be confirmed.

The rules for submissions are as follows:

  • The final version of the song must be submitted, not the demo version
  • Lyrics must be provided alongside the names of composers and lyricists
  • Songs must be at least 2 minutes 30 long, but cannot exceed 3 minutes in length
  • Singers must be aged between 9 and 14 years old as of December 19

Previously, Junior Fest was used in 2012 and between 2017 and 2019, while Festivali i Këngës për Femije was used in 2015 and 2016.

Most recently, Isea Çili won Junior Fest with “Mikja ime fëmijëri”, eventually placing 17th in Junior Eurovision 2019, hosted in Gliwice-Silesia. Albania then withdrew from the contest last year due to the pandemic.

About Junior Eurovision 2021

Only days after Valentina’s win, the EBU were quick to confirm that we will be travelling to France for the 19th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. The contest will take place on December 19th at La Seine Musicale. The slogan of the contest will be Imagine, and the logo was unveiled in August. At this time it is uncertain if the contest will be held in person or remotely once more. Recently the EBU outlined a series of planned scenarios to satisfy the conditions at the time.

In total, the following 19 countries have been confirmed by the EBU as taking part in the 19th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest:

  • Albania
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan – Sona Azizova
  • Bulgaria
  • France
  • Germany – Pauline
  • Georgia
  • Ireland
  • Italy
  • Kazakhstan
  • Malta
  • Netherlands – Ayana
  • North Macedonia
  • Poland – Sara James
  • Portugal – Simão Oliveira
  • Russia
  • Serbia
  • Spain
  • Ukraine – Levi Díaz

Among the 19 we see returns for Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Ireland, Italy, North Macedonia and Portugal. However there are withdrawals for Australia again, and of course the expulsion of Belarus. The Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2021 will be broadcast live on December 19 and starts at 17:00 CET. Stay tuned in the coming weeks and months ahead, as broadcasters begin selecting their acts for Paris 2021!

Are you looking forward to hearing Albania’s entry? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify and YouTube to see our reactions to the news in the run up to the 2022 national final season!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button