Paris 2021🇦🇲 Armenia

Maléna releases Junior Eurovision 2021 entry “Qami Qami”

The entry is a change of pace from her 2020 entry "Why".

This week, Armenia completed the line-up of Junior Eurovision 2021 acts. Maléna has been re-selected by ARMTV, having been initially chosen to represent Armenia at Junior Eurovision 2020, prior to their withdrawal from the contest.

Last year, Maléna was internally-selected by ARMTV to represent Armenia with the song “Why”. Unfortunately, the broadcaster eventually withdrew from the contest. Today, it has been confirmed that she will get her chance on the Junior Eurovision stage with December with a new entry.

“Qami Qami” was produced by tokionine and written by Vahram Petrosyan, tokionine, David Tserunyan and Maléna herself.

You can watch the music video for “Qami Qami” below:

About Junior Eurovision 2021

Only days after Valentina’s win, the EBU were quick to confirm that we will be travelling to France for the 19th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. The contest will take place on December 19th at La Seine Musicale. The slogan of the contest will be Imagine, and the logo was unveiled in August. At this time it is uncertain if the contest will be held in person or remotely once more. Recently the EBU outlined a series of planned scenarios to satisfy the conditions at the time.

In total, the following 19 countries have been confirmed by the EBU as taking part in the 19th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest:

  • Albania – Anna Gjebrea
  • Armenia – Maléna
  • Azerbaijan – Sona Azizova
  • Bulgaria – Deni & Marti
  • France – Enzo
  • Germany – Pauline
  • Georgia – Nikoloz Kajaia 
  • Ireland – Maiú Levi Lawlor
  • Italy – Elisabetta Lizza
  • Kazakhstan – Beknur Jánibekuly & Álınur Khamzin
  • Malta – Ike and Kaya
  • Netherlands – Ayana
  • North Macedonia – Dajte Muzika
  • Poland – Sara James
  • Portugal – Simão Oliveira
  • Russia – Tanya Mezhentseva
  • Serbia – Jovana and Dunja
  • Spain – Levi Díaz
  • Ukraine – Olena Usenko

Among the 19 we see returns for Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Ireland, Italy, North Macedonia and Portugal. However there are withdrawals for Australia again, and of course the expulsion of Belarus. The Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2021 will be broadcast live on December 19 and starts at 17:00 CET.

Tickets for the rehearsal show and Grand Final went on sale on Wednesday 3 November. The contest will be hosted by Élodie Gossuin, Olivier Minne and Carla.

What do you think of “Qami Qami”? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify and YouTube to see our reactions to the news in the run up to the 2022 national final season!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button