Paris 2021🇬🇪 Georgia

Nikoloz Kajaia releases Junior Eurovision 2021 entry “Let’s Count The Smiles”

His entry was written and composed by the person behind Georgia's three previous Junior Eurovision winners.

Georgia have become the penultimate participating nation to confirm their Junior Eurovision 2021 representative. 10-year-old Nikoloz Kajaia has been selected to represent the Caucasian nation with the song “Let’s Count The Smiles”.

After a ten-week selection, 10-year-old Nikoloz Kajaia from Tbilisi won Ranina on Saturday, and therefore the ticket to Paris this December.

Yesterday, his internally-selected entry “Let’s Count The Smiles” was released. The song was written and composed by Giga Kukhiandze, the person behind Georgia’s three Junior Eurovision winners: Bzikebi’s Bzz.. (2008), CANDY’s Candy Music (2011), and Mariam Mamadishvili’s Mzeo (2018).

You can watch the music video below:

Niko Kajaia - Let's Count The Smiles - Georgia 🇬🇪 - Official Music Video- Junior Eurovision 2021Niko Kajaia – Let’s Count The Smiles – Georgia 🇬🇪 – Official Music Video- Junior Eurovision 2021

About Junior Eurovision 2021

Only days after Valentina’s win, the EBU were quick to confirm that we will be travelling to France for the 19th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest. The contest will take place on December 19th at La Seine Musicale. The slogan of the contest will be Imagine, and the logo was unveiled in August. At this time it is uncertain if the contest will be held in person or remotely once more. Recently the EBU outlined a series of planned scenarios to satisfy the conditions at the time.

In total, the following 19 countries have been confirmed by the EBU as taking part in the 19th edition of the Junior Eurovision Song Contest:

  • Albania – Anna Gjebrea
  • Armenia
  • Azerbaijan – Sona Azizova
  • Bulgaria – Deni & Marti
  • France – Enzo
  • Germany – Pauline
  • Georgia – Nikoloz Kajaia 
  • Ireland – Maiú Levi Lawlor
  • Italy – Elisabetta Lizza
  • Kazakhstan – Beknur Jánibekuly & Álınur Khamzin
  • Malta – Ike and Kaya
  • Netherlands – Ayana
  • North Macedonia – Dajte Muzika
  • Poland – Sara James
  • Portugal – Simão Oliveira
  • Russia – Tanya Mezhentseva
  • Serbia – Jovana and Dunja
  • Spain – Levi Díaz
  • Ukraine – Olena Usenko

Among the 19 we see returns for Albania, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bulgaria, Ireland, Italy, North Macedonia and Portugal. However there are withdrawals for Australia again, and of course the expulsion of Belarus. The Junior Eurovision Song Contest 2021 will be broadcast live on December 19 and starts at 17:00 CET.

Tickets for the rehearsal show and Grand Final went on sale on Wednesday 3 November.

19 participants for 19th Junior Eurovision Song Contest19 participants for 19th Junior Eurovision Song Contest

What do you think of “Let’s Count The Smiles”? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to follow us on Spotify and YouTube to see our reactions to the news in the run up to the 2022 national final season!

Costa Christou

Ever since I saw Helena Paparizou's triumph at Eurovision in 2005 (at the tender age of 6), I have been crazy about Eurovision. From the regional native language bops and shrieky female-led balladry to the sophisticated avant garde pop songs and chart-friendly EDM, I love everything about this cultural phenomenon. I'm currently working as a Delivery Manager in a software development team.

Comments on Nikoloz Kajaia releases Junior Eurovision 2021 entry “Let’s Count The Smiles”

Related Articles

Back to top button