Rotterdam 2021🇲🇰 North Macedonia

🇲🇰 North Macedonia: MKRTV confirms Eurovision 2021 participation

They have yet to confirm how they will select their entrant

North Macedonia have become the latest country to confirm their participation in Eurovision 2021. This comes despite their withdrawal from the junior contest this year. As yet, it has not been confirmed whether Vasil will return as their artist or not.

MKRTV, the North Macedonian broadcaster for Eurovision, have confirmed their participation to ESCToday. This comes following the country’s withdrawal from Junior Eurovision earlier this year.

Little detail has been given aside from this confirmation, and we currently do not know how their entry will be selected. In recent years, they have opted for an internal selection. Since Vasil had been due to represent them in Rotterdam prior to the contest’s cancellation, will they be selecting him again with a new song?

Eurovision 2021: So far

Over the past few months, a number of broadcasters have confirmed whether they will be keeping their 2020 artists for next year’s contest. Whilst most have confirmed that they will be sticking with their 2020 selection, the likes of France and Cyprus will be sending different acts next year. So far, the 18 confirmed artists are:

We also know that national selections will be going ahead in Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Lithuania, Norway and Sweden. Meanwhile, Armenia, Cyprus, Iceland, Ireland, Germany, North Macedonia and Serbia have confirmed participation but have yet to confirm their participant. 

Next year’s semi-finals will take place on the 18th and 20th of May, whilst the Grand Final will take place on 22nd May. Rotterdam Ahoy Arena will serve as the venue of the 2021 contest.

In an unprecedented twist, the EBU also recently announced that pre-recorded backing vocals will be allowed at the 2021 contest. They have also revealed that they are preparing for two scenarios for the contest next year.

North Macedonia at the Eurovision Song Contest

North Macedonia, formerly participating as the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia (F.Y.R. Macedonia), has participated in the contest 19 times. After an unsuccessful attempt in 1996, they officially debuted at the 1998 contest with Vlado Janevski’s “Ne zori, zoro”. 

North Macedonia was previously one of the most unlucky countries in the contest. After 18 appearances, they were yet to crack the top 10. Before 2019, their best result was Elena Risteska’s 12th-place finish in 2006 with “Ninanajna”. Their most recent Grand Final appearance was with Kaliopi’s “Crno i belo” in 2012, which finished 13th.

At the 2019, their fortunes changed drastically, as Tamara Todevska brought them an unprecedented level of success. She managed to deliver North Macedonia’s best result to date in Tel Aviv by placing 7th overall in the Grand Final. She finished with 305 points overall, and winning the jury vote.

Are you excited to have North Macedonia returning for another year? Do you think they should send Vasil again? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to subscribe to our YouTube channel to see our reactions to the news and updates in the coming months!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button