Rotterdam 2021

🇱🇮 Liechtenstein will not make their Eurovision debut next year

Their broadcaster, 1FL TV, has been striving for EBU membership for years

Liechtenstein, one of only 3 recognised European states to have never participated in the contest, will not be debuting in 2021. Speaking to ESCToday, 1FL TV confirmed that the microstate will not debut at the 2021 Eurovision edition next year due to the high participation costs.

1 FLT TV, Liechtenstein’s broadcaster, has been trying to apply for an EBU membership for years. However, the broadcaster is still not an active member of the EBU and therefore ineligible to participate in the contest.

All the way back in 2017, the broadcaster noted their intention to debut in the 2019 contest. However, they later confirmed that they had not applied for EBU membership the following year. Last year, the broadcaster highlighted the need for government approval for joining the EBU, as well as the cost associated. The death of former 1 FLT TV director Peter Kolbel, who had been leading the bid for EBU membership, was also a factor in the delaying of progress.

Financial hurdles remain

Speaking to ESCToday, a 1FL TV spokesperson reiterated the challenges the microstate faces in joining the EBU, and therefore the contest.

Firstly, the government would have to agree to the ongoing cost of EBU membership, which has lead to debts for states like Bosnia and Herzegovina and Romania in the past.

Beyond this, there is also the cost of participating in the Eurovision Song Contest, which is especially notable for a state as small as Liechtenstein.

The broadcaster noted that despite the microstate having a population of less than 40,000, Liechtenstein has a rich cultural heritage, with many musicians who would love to participate in the contest.

We hope to see them debut in the future! Liechtenstein, Kosovo and Vatican City remain the only 3 internationally-recognised states to have never participated in the contest.

Eurovision 2021 so far

Over the past few months, a number of broadcasters have confirmed whether they will be keeping their 2020 artists for next year’s contest. Whilst most have confirmed that they will be sticking with their 2020 selection, the likes of France and Cyprus will be sending different acts next year. So far, the 19 confirmed artists are:

We also know that national selections will be going ahead in Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Lithuania, Norway and Sweden.

Are you sad to see that Liechtenstein will not be debuting next year? Do you hope to see them participate in the future? Let us know! Be sure to stay updated by following @ESCXTRA on Twitter@escxtra on Instagram and liking our Facebook page for the latest updates! Also, be sure to subscribe to our YouTube channel to see our reactions to the over the coming months.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button