Eurovision 2020

Here they are – the class of Eurovision 2020

Some facts about this year's contestants

With Finland, Sweden, Denmark and Portugal choosing their entries past weekend, we now know all the artists competing in this year’s Eurovision Song Contest. Here are some facts about the class of Eurovision 2020.

15 male soloists

15 countries have selected a male soloist to represent them in Rotterdam. These are North Macedonia’s Vasil, Croatia’s Damir Kedžo, Cyprus’ Sandro, Austria’s Vincent Bueno, Czech Republic’s Benny Cristo, Estonia’s Uku Suviste, Finland’s Aksel Kankaanranta, Georgia’s Tornike Kipiani, Switzerland’s Gjon’s Tears, France’s Tom Leeb, Germany’s Ben Dolic, Italy’s Diodato, The Netherlands’ Jeangu Macrooy, Spain’s Blas Cantó and United Kingdom’s James Newman.

17 female soloists

17 female singers are taking part this year. These are Australia’s Montaigne, Ireland’s Lesley Roy, Slovenia’s Ana Soklič, Azerbaijan’s Samira Efendi, Israel’s Eden Alene, Malta’s Destiny Chukunyere, Norway’s Ulrikke, Romania’s Roxen, Greece’s Stefania, Moldova’s Natalia Gordienko, Poland’s Alicja Szemplińska, San Marino’s Senhit, Albania’s Arilena Ara, Armenia’s Athena Manoukian, Bulgaria’s VICTORIA, Latvia’s Samanta Tīna and Portugal’s Elisa.

9 groups or duos

That leaves nine groups or duos competing. These are Belarus’ VAL, Lithuania’s The Roop, Russia’s Little Big, Sweden’s The Mamas, Belgium’s Hooverphonic, Ukraine’s Go_A, Iceland’s Daði & Gagnamagnið, Serbia’s Hurricane and Denmark’s Ben & Tan.

Returning artists

We have quite a few returning artists this year. Senhit represented San Marino in 2011 with “Stand By” and is now returning to represent the country. Hurricane-member Sanja Vučić represented Serbia in 2016 with “Goodbye (Shelter)” while her bandmate Ksenija Knežević has taken part as a backing vocalist for her own dad, Knez, in 2015.

There are two more solo singers, who previously provided backing vocals but are now the main singers. These are North Macedonia’s Vasil and Austria’s Vincent Bueno. Last year Vasil sang behind Tamara Todevska while Vincent Bueno helped Nathan Trent in 2017.

Next to that, Sweden’s The Mamas joined John Lundvik on stage last year, when he represented Sweden in Tel Aviv.

Also returning is Moldova’s Natalia Gordienko. She represented Moldova at the Eurovision Song Contest 2006 alongside Arsenium and Connect-R. Their song “Loca” finished 20th in the final of the contest.

Two former Junior Eurovision stars have grown up and are now taking part in the Eurovision Song Contest. These are Greece’s Stefania, who represented The Netherlands in 2016 as part of the group Kisses and Malta’s Destiny Chukunyere, who won the Junior Eurovision Song Contest in 2015. She also served as the backing vocalist for Michela last year.

Youngest and oldest

The youngest contestant this year is Greece’s Stefania. While four of this year’s contestants (Destiny Chukunyere, Stefania, Alicja Szemplińska and Benjamin Rosenbohm) all are born in 2002, Stefania has her birthday in December, making her the youngest contestant.

The oldest contestant, to our knowledge, is Raymond Geerts, a member of the Belgian group Hooverphonic.

26 national selections

26 countries held a national selection, in some format. Two countries, Romania and San Marino, chose their artist internally but the song was selected through a public selection.

Two countries, Georgia and Malta, chose their representative through The X Factor, but the song was selected internally. The other 22 countries held some kind of national selection for their song and artist.

Plus one fun fact!

For seven performers their Eurovision entry is their first commercially released single as a lead performer.

Who is your favourite to win the Eurovision Song Contest 2020? Let us know below or on social media @ESCXTRA!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button